Sid

Quadcopter wobbles on descent
« on: February 27, 2016, 03:53:13 pm »
Hi everybody
I have this 450 size home built wooden Quadcopter that is prone to wobbles on descent (Prop wash). I have tried to lower pids or increase with no success. The only thing has helped so far was to use smaller size props which I had a power lost and it hoverd around 70 percent.
At this point I'm running out of clues and decided to ask you guys a few question if you could answer me.

What increases Prop wash?
Size of frame and material used
Motor size
Stiff or soft Propellers
Esc speed
Type of the frame Like X,+, H. Symmetrical or semi Symmetrical
Location of battery and camera. On the top of underneath 
And what ever can cause wobbles on descent

Have a great day
Cheers
Sid

Re: Quadcopter wobbles on descent
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2016, 05:18:02 pm »
I'm not an expert but I have some thing to try.  TPA.  Usually u use it to get rid of oscillation at high throttle. Well you can also set it so it increases PIDs at lower throttle(like going through prop wash) so try increasing TPA when at lower throttle so you have more PID control in descent. start with say 10% and test and see if that helps.

I set mine to have 18% reduction in PID at full throttle trailing to 0% at half throttle and positive TPA(about 10%) at lower throttle. It gives me good control at low throttle for flips and course corrections while lowering my altitude or falling through wash. And less PID at high throttle for fast flight and punchouts without shaking crazy.

An easy one to try first through if you fly in rate mode is to get the PIDs to where you like how it flys and try adding more I gain.

As far as what causes it... Not enough I gain control at lower motor RPM...big floaty props that push a lot of air, and aerodynamics I suppose. Everybody deals with prop wash. Some just more than others.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2016, 05:29:26 pm by NicholasDavid »
5" alien 4s 596grams with battery and GoPro FPV