LibrePilot Forum

General Category => General Discussion => Topic started by: Seven5555 on May 02, 2018, 03:48:14 am

Title: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 02, 2018, 03:48:14 am
I've been having this problem for awhile. I cannot figure out how to get this to arm. It was working fine a few weeks ago. Its a cc3d Atom FC. what do I need to provide to get this resolved.

Thank you very very much

Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 02, 2018, 04:14:50 am
Did you make _any_ changes since it worked?  Has it been crashed, even fairly lightly and that caused it?

USB does not power the receiver.  You must have a flight battery plugged in.

Besides making sure the receiver is powered (LED on receiver?), the receiver must be passing a good signal (on all wires if it is PWM) to the FC and the FC must be configured to use that signal type.  Vibration can cause wire/connector to get intermittent.  You may try unplugging and plugging all receiver connections back in.

WIth battery plugged in, transmitter on, USB plugged in, you can go to Input->RCInput page and see if the sliders move and if the activity box (upper right) says anything when you move the sticks.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 02, 2018, 04:36:33 am
That is exactly the initial steps I've done a few times but I will do it again now.

It's not been wrecked. I did try to get the bootloader to open and it failed and it has armed since then.

I meant nothing offensive, I rarely talk in forums and find the info by reading but usually they just get ignored and I'd like to make a few friends in this hobby. I thank you for your response and advice.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 02, 2018, 04:48:42 am
All of the RC functions are being received. I just noticed that the Throttle min is 1100 and /neutral is 1120 but in the output page neutral is 1050
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 02, 2018, 05:45:37 am
  >:(  I erased the FC, flashed the BL, updated the FW, :P ran both the setups and now it Arms  :-*

but the motors don't spin.   :-\

Any ideas?
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 02, 2018, 07:02:59 am
Do the motors beep every 5-10 seconds?  That is a sign that the ESCs are not receiving a signal, or one they don't understand.

Did you run the setup wizard?  Did the motors spin when you did the motor neutral (set motors to run slowly) part?

You probably selected an ESC signal protocol that your ESCs can't do.  You might try using [email protected] Hz.  You can set this on the Output page.  Make sure you do it the same for all "banks" that have "outputs" on them.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 02, 2018, 08:21:37 am
yes i did and yes they did spin. yes, its 490 pwm
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 02, 2018, 10:32:50 am
Do motors still spin if you do Test Outputs on the Output page?

Arms, and motors spin there, but motors don't spin with throttle stick?

Post your config file (File->ExportUAV...)

I'm going to bed now.  :)
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 03, 2018, 09:10:54 am
I'm not sure why but everything is fine now. It must've had something corrupt it the settings that was fixed re flashing.

Thank you very much for reading and making an effort. I appreciate it.

Dean
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 03, 2018, 09:16:15 am
here is the uav. will you take a look at it to see if anything might be problematic?
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 03, 2018, 09:28:52 am
I checked some common issues and it looks OK to me.  The proof is whether it flies.

Make sure you have either an RC or FC failsafe set up so you don't have a fly away.

It looks like you haven't adjusted Attitude->Settings->RotateVirtual.  That can be used to make Attitude mode hover have minimum drift.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 03, 2018, 11:34:30 am
Thank you. I will check that out. I had a new one fly away recently.

Is is possible to add a barameter to this for altitude hold? I have a couple here and I saw it in the configuration tree. Just curious.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 03, 2018, 01:52:04 pm
Probably not.  IIRC at least at one time there was an I2C mag/baro module, but I think it was removed.  You can look in System->Settings->HwSettings->OptionalModules.

Best to get a newer board.  If you don't want to pay $40 for a Revo/Sparky2, you can get an Omnibus F4 Pro V2 (for $19 shipped) which is supported by an accessible private (@mr_w) branch and soon by next (last I heard).  It has baro, volt/current sensor, built in OSD, BEC.  I assume it does GPS flight modes too.  All of these are full sized boards.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Betaflight-OMNIBUS-F4-Pro-V2-Flight-Control-Built-in-OSD-BEC-for-FPV-Drone/282478913161
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 04, 2018, 11:58:07 am
It looks like you haven't adjusted Attitude->Settings->RotateVirtual.  That can be used to make Attitude mode hover have minimum drift.

I have been looking for this and I do not see it yet but I will keep looking.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 04, 2018, 12:08:38 pm
Best to get a newer board.

I just bought one of these and it has been problematic and I am returning it for a replacement that I hope will work better.
The leds flicker and cuts off and the bootloader won't open. I had the dips right and tried it manually too but nothing happens when i short the boot pins. The replacement should be here soon.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Illuminati32-10DOF-Naze32-Flight-Controller-with-Built-In-OSD-CleanFlight-V2/262407680257?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 04, 2018, 05:25:39 pm
Probably not.  IIRC at least at one time there was an I2C mag/baro module, but I think it was removed.  You can look in System->Settings->HwSettings->OptionalModules.

There is Mag/Baro and Altitude. then i guess it might be possible but probably unlikely,

I found the rotate virtual but I'm not sure how much of each i should use. I'll look into it. Although I got the hex to fly, it wasnt pretty or smooth. It's not flyable, so maybe that will help.

It's going from armed to super speed by bearly moving the sticks. I fixed this before but I can't recall how i did it. I had it very gradual.

I adjusted the throttle curve but it didn't help. It takes off so fast that it just hops around. It won't gradually spin up and rise.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 04, 2018, 06:11:00 pm
LibrePilot does not support Naze32 FC (yet?).

I found the rotate virtual but I'm not sure how much of each i should use. I'll look into it. Although I got the hex to fly, it wasnt pretty or smooth. It's not flyable, so maybe that will help.

It's going from armed to super speed by bearly moving the sticks. I fixed this before but I can't recall how i did it. I had it very gradual.

RotateVirtual is just degrees of bank angle and it only works in the self leveling modes like Attitude, Rattitude.  I suggest you start out with 3 degrees of angle change.  I try to get it down to fractions of a degree so that it drifts the least amount possible.
- if it is drifting forward you subtract from pitch
- if it is drifting left you subtract from roll

If you mean the motors go from not moving at all to super speed, then do ESC calibration and neutral setting.
https://librepilot.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/LPDOC/pages/12058743/ESC+Calibration

Controlling your altitude takes a little practice.  Like driving a car and following a car in traffic, it only takes very small change in accelerator pedal.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 04, 2018, 07:15:47 pm
I just did all of that,before i do, do you think it could be the neutral setting for the throttle isn't right vs the neutral setting for the motors?

I'll calibrate the esc's per your suggestion. i just feel like im forgetting something here
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 04, 2018, 08:09:54 pm
Yes.  That may be your whole problem, but it means that the whole bottom half of the throttle stick does nothing.  Is that what is happening?

Input setting for Thrust/Throttle is about 40 above min, so if min is 1000, then neutral is about 1040.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 15, 2018, 06:09:20 pm
I'm not really getting that for some reason. In the output tab, the motors start nice n slow but when I arm it, the throttle doesn't start the motors until its almost halfway up and they start way to hot. Its uncontrollable. I've been making adjustments but its not getting better. Sometimes wrapping my head around all of this is easier than others..
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 16, 2018, 03:41:05 am
Min/max for throttle input should be the same as the other main channels.  Input Neutral should be about 40 above min; if min is 1000, neutral should be 1040.

(For standard PWM* ESC protocol) Min/max for motors (Output) should be about 1000/1900 and neutral should be such that motors run slowly there.  Usually that means about 1070 for neutral if min is 1000.

If you do this, your problem should be fixed.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 16, 2018, 09:37:58 am
Okay, that makes sense. It was my tx calibration. I have been doing it wrong. Now it's oscillating but I doubt that is the firmware. Can't get a break with this thing.

Hey I want say I really appreciate taking time and your help. I've not had much interaction with others in this hobby. I hope that I can help you down the sometime  too.

Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 16, 2018, 05:38:16 pm
Stick pictures oscillating in transmitter wizard means you did not move each stick (and switch/knob/slider) that is used to max positions when it told you to?
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 17, 2018, 03:34:23 am
Oh I meant the hexcopter oscillates, when it's hovering. Especially when throttling up vertically. I calibrated everything, it better but its still doing it. its llooks like a an invisible shifting weight at the outer edge of the all props
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 17, 2018, 07:12:03 am
First thing to know is that the default PIDs require that the ESC protocol is at least as fast as [email protected] or PWMSync ... or you can have oscillations.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 17, 2018, 09:22:08 pm
really? is there a way to check that or should I try a lower number?
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 17, 2018, 10:05:37 pm
Be aware that Stabilization->Advanced->ThrustPIDScaling is designed exactly to fix the problem where it hovers OK, but oscillates at high power.  It also helps increase stability when descending in your own downwash.

Very Important!  Do you know that your ESC Output banks are all set for at least [email protected] and set the same?

---

You can just try multiplying all PID numbers (Stabilization "Advanced" tab, 9 inner loop numbers and 6 outer loop numbers) by say 0.75 each number.

I think another way that works is to reduce the Vehicle->MixLevel sliders by the same factor.
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: Seven5555 on May 18, 2018, 11:30:45 am
Yes I do but honestly, I'm not sure what 490hz means..

I will check out the pids like you said
Title: Re: Help! orange input flag-cannot arm.
Post by: TheOtherCliff on May 18, 2018, 12:42:23 pm
... 490 times a second, where 50hz is just 50 times a second.

Stock PIDs assume that it responds in much less than 1/50th of a second.