Stanfr0

Help needed with setting failsafe on RC gear and or Revo
« on: January 18, 2016, 12:24:12 am »
Hi,

I'm a complete novice to the hobby and to this forum so please tell me if I've posted in the wrong section or am asking a stupid question.

I'm worried about what happens if I fly out of range of my transmitter or if the transmitter dies.
I have a Flysky FS-i6 with a FS-iAB receiver wired with parallel channels to a Revo.

Ultimately I am going to install a GPS and would like to set up return to base but in the short term I want to stop my quadcopter flying into the sunset (or worse).

I've tried setting the failsafe on the transmitter to 0%, 50% and 100%. 100% works in that it sets the motors on full throttle if I turn the transmitter off (not what I need) but 0% and 50% do not seem to set the throttle channel and the motors seem to increase over a few seconds.

How should I be setting up failsafe with my system?

Am I right in thinking that its better to set the throttle to say 10% for hopefully a controlled decent rather than 0% or off when so the quadcopter drops out of the sky?

Should I be doing this on the FC rather than the RC?

Apologies if I am asking stupid questions.

Robert

Re: Help needed with setting failsafe on RC gear and or Revo
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 03:54:26 am »
The motors increase because it is trying to stabilize when sitting on the ground.  It tries harder and harder, but still does not have enough thrust to lift the low arm.  This does not happen in flight.

If your RC has failsafe, then that is usually the simplest way to set up a failsafe.  Make sure that the flight mode switch has the correct failsafe settings too.  Be aware that the FC failsafe is completely separate, and some unlikely things (like cable from Rx to FC coming loose) will set off FC failsafe.  The default for FC failsafe is to stop all motors immediately.

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2016, 05:41:34 am »