got it flying now want to tune it.
« on: February 10, 2016, 04:29:18 am »
Hi:
I have built a emax 250 nighthawk. It has a CC3D FC, I used Openpilot to set it up.
I used settings from a 250 racer for the initial pids that was in Openpilot, so not defaults.

I am still learning to fly it in attitude mode, but have tried rate mode as well.
Both modes seems fairly stable to quick changes to pitch/yaw/roll and it can hover nicely. (Mostly attitude mode because I am not good enough to fly in rate mode yet).
I am not into flips and rolls, just something stable relatively easy to fly (I can fly a Syma X5C pretty easliy)

As I get better at flying it I am noticing that changing the roll/pitch/yaw will cause the quad to go up or down quite a bit by 8ft or so.
I am not sure its not just pilot error or it needs some tuning.

For example I can have it hovering 6ft off the ground really stable, give a little roll then straigten out. This can have a big effect on the altitude,
mostly likely it will drop, then I give a tiny bit of throttle and will go up about 8 ft, and it takes a bit to get the up/down movement under control.

Can anyone tell me if some tuning is necessary or if this is normal.
If tuning is necessary which to tune first P, I or D. I have read tons on things about tuning, seems like black magic.

I have attached a photo of the drone. I think its pretty well balanced.

The weights in the front are taking the place of a run cam thats on order.

It weighs 550g with the battery.
Currently has 5/3 props but waiting for replacement 6/3 props (crashed on first flght)

The current pids are
Rate Mode (should not matter cause I am only trying attitude mode)
Roll Pitch Yaw
P: .00240 .00330 .00810
I: .0070 .00950 .01060
D: .000032 .000043 .000050

Attitude Mode
Roll Pitch Yaw
P: 2.3 2.6 2.5
I: 0.0 0.0 0.0

Attitiude Response is
Roll Pitch Yaw
55 55 35

Throttle curve is default.

Maybe none of these matter since it seems stable just goes up and down?