manual esc calibration problem
« on: March 09, 2018, 02:37:56 pm »
First time posting in here...My setup is a Qav180, RHD D2204-2300kv, little bee BLHeli 30a esc, cc3d, spm4648, DXe. Now thats out of the way, I am having a issue with motor #1 that carries the power, twitches before start up. For say the other three will fire up at 1065 but #1 will twitch till it reaches 1090.

I have tried the manual esc calibration, where I disconnected 2,3,4 and left 1 hooked up, power up transmitter, full throttle, plug in battery, esc beeps, throttle down and no conformation beep. Not Sure what I am doing here as I am new to this program and drones completely.

Re: manual esc calibration problem
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 10:05:14 pm »
Edit: Oh, could very well be because #1 is warmer... because you are using it's BEC.  You could prove that by changing to use #2 to power the CC3D.  Do you have the red wire on the other ESCs disconnected?  I always leave them all connected (parallel).  That is 100% OK as long as the ESC's BEC is linear.  Even with all connected, one ESC will carry the lion's share of the power due to mfg tolerances.  Most ESCs actually have 2 BEC chips inside them, so they are already built with parallel BECs.

Do the other ESCs twitch at lower than 1065?  Trying to make sure that they at least all act alike.  If you just can't calibrate them, you can just run them as they are, with some set to 1065 and one to 1090.  I would add about 20 to those numbers because the numbers drop as the ESCs warm up (some ESCs, usually the ones without a separate frequency source called external oscillator).