Only 3 out of 4 motors spin at low throttle
« on: October 02, 2017, 07:35:06 pm »
Greetings.  I'm new to RC.  I'm new to CC3D and LibrePilot.
I connected my quad to laptop appropriately, and I was able to progress through the vehicle and transmitter wizards appropriately.  Of course, once finished, I tested (without props).

At low throttle, when motors just begin to spin (say at 2% throttle), only motors 1, 2, 3 spin.  Motor 4 doesn't begin to spin until about 8-10 % throttle (significantly more).  Of course, I fiddle, adjust stick positions, adjust channel 5 and 6 switches, etc.

Then, I notice motors 1, 2, and 4 spin at low throttle.  Now, motor 3 doesn't spin until 8-10% throttle.

Yes, after more fiddling, motors 1, 3, and 4 spin at low throttle, and motor 2 takes 8-10% to start moving.

If this were one motor, I would suspect a short, an ESC, or the motor itself.  But the slow-to-spin motor moves.  I don't know how to begin debugging this problem.

Can anyone offer suggestions?  Fixes?
Thank you.

mr_w

• LibrePilot
Re: Only 3 out of 4 motors spin at low throttle
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2017, 09:27:28 pm »
You should probably redo the ESC calibration and output neutrals setup.

See https://librepilot.atlassian.net/wiki/display/LPDOC/ESC+Calibration for step-by-step instructions.

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2017, 11:30:24 pm »
Thank you for your reply, mr_w.  I'm starting to follow your suggestion, and right away I notice that motors 1, 2, 3 are in "Bank" 1 and motor 4 is in "Bank" 2.  Is that appropriate?  If not, how do I change banks?
Thanks again.

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2017, 02:11:20 am »
hello i suggest you redo the vehicle setup wizard then when you reach the motor output calibration please
calibrate all motors at same time instead of doing it one by one.

you will notice that when you calibrate motors one by one you will get mis-correlated neutral values
example:

motor 1 : 1041
motor 2 : 1046
motor 3 : 1039
motor 4 : 1045