Coaxial propellers?
« on: June 05, 2017, 05:07:40 pm »
Hello. Is it possible to make single motor coaxial drone with librepilot? These is no opiton for single motor in vehicle menu. Can i do an custom or can i use helicopter for this? Sorry if this question is stupid. Im new at drones and flight controllers :).

Regards.

Re: Coaxial propellers?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2017, 05:22:54 pm »
Yes.  It is not part of the setup wizard though.  You would set it up basically as a standard helicopter, which is also not handled by the wizard.  There are people here that have done it though and there is a section of the forum about it.

You will need to set it up as a heli, but then convert it to "custom" mixer so you can add to both of the throttles to change thrust, but add to one and subtract from the other to change yaw.  Or you could set it up entirely as a regular heli and use an external mixer that accepts yaw and throttle inputs and produces motor1 and motor2 outputs.

The pictures you show are not of a single motor, you of course actually control the two motors independently.  If you had a single motor with a reversing gearbox for the counter-rotating prop, you would need to change the (collective) pitch on at least one set of blades.  Adding pitch to one set of blades and subtracting pitch from the other set would be equivalent to speeding one motor up and slowing the other one down in the dual motor configuration.

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2017, 08:34:45 pm »
Thank you. Can also send me the forum link if possible?

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2017, 09:12:39 pm »
The Helicopter forum is on http://forum.librepilot.org
https://forum.librepilot.org/index.php?board=4.0

There is no "one click" setup, but you can set it up as a normal helicopter with roll and pitch controlling the paddles (fins at the bottom), then you will have to go to Custom mixer (on the Vehicle page) and make a second motor just like the first, but using the yaw output channel.