Possibly a bug at librepilot
« on: December 12, 2016, 09:08:42 pm »
Hi,

I have my quadcopter with CC3D and I configured Openpilot with MaxAngle 80, CruiseControl and Angle Rate of 450 degree/sec.

The problem is this: I was flying and I was really high and I reduced throttle but I thought my quad was not getting down so I turned off the throttle in the air and left my drone fall for 4 or 5 seconds. During that, my drone fliped once or twice when falling and when I applied a high throttle to stop the descent the drone kept falling and falling and hit the ground. I am very sure when I applied a high throttle my quad was upside down and it kept that way till hit the ground! Which means that my quad was not responding to throttle when upside down, I could see the props spinning not very fast when it hitted the ground and almost everything was destroyed.

Has anyone had this problem before? I am a beginner and I was using ATTITUDE mode but I have a switch to change to RATTITUDE when I want to make flips, but in the case above I was in attitude mode all the time, I am pretty sure of that.

hwh

Re: Possibly a bug at librepilot
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2016, 09:44:20 pm »
... I configured Openpilot ...
Are you running the old OpenPilot from early 2015 or one of the newer version's released by LibrePilot?  There are literally hundreds of bugs fixed and things changed between them.

Your description of props spinning slowly as it hit sounds like they were just freewheeling because of the air going past them.  Maybe it disarmed somehow.

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2016, 10:10:11 pm »
I am using LibrePilot software in the latest version. No, my quad did not disarm, it's set to disarm after 60 seconds of zero throttle. I think that there is something with cruise control that turns off props while inverted but if my quad has no rotational inertia to complete a loop it keeps the upside down position. I really think an expert hobbyst could explain this better.

f5soh