Problem with INS13
« on: August 28, 2016, 10:50:28 pm »
Hello, I have  a problem with the INS13 GPS mode.

I am using this flight controller with this GPS module.

I did all the calibration, several times and very rigorously. But always when I turn on the INS13, the aircraft appears tilted and unstable. It goes crazy if I try to use any of the GPS modes in flight.

I've read a lot of post on this forum, still I have not a clear solution on how to fix it.

This is my first build, and I am regretting starting this hobby.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

f5soh

• LibrePilot
Re: Problem with INS13
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2016, 11:48:43 pm »
Hi, welcome.

Looking at your screenshot the Mag alarm is orange, maybe without motor started.
Using only the onboard Mag you cannot fly without mag alarm, all power parts (big wires, esc, motors) are too close and cause strong magnetic fields.
A simple Lipo alarm device can also disturb the mag.

You should use the "next" Gcs version and use a external mag, a Naza GPS is prefered because allows GPS and Mag data using the same wiring/connection.
https://forum.librepilot.org/index.php?topic=449.msg15319#msg15319

https://forum.librepilot.org/index.php?topic=1910.0

chromvis

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2016, 11:55:34 pm »
In the title of your GPS module it is Neo6M, in "included" section it is Neo8M. It only have 4 wires, so  it is either NAZA compatible (which I doubt), or magnetometer is not wired. Actually, in the discussion section of the same HK page it is mentioned that magnetometer is not wired.
Since mag sign in your screenshot is yellow - you have communication with magnetometer. There are just significant difference between on-board and external mag calibration.