Couple Flight Controler with Arduino Board via I2C?
« on: May 10, 2016, 12:20:05 am »
Hello,

I'm new in this forum and new in building quadrocopters, but i have little experiences in programming.

I'm planing to built up a quadrocopter with a Revolution FC and a OpenLink ground controller.

My plan is to read out data from the OpenLink ground controller with an Arduino board via I2C protocol. I want to manipulate the UAVobjects in the FC with the Arduino and the OpenLink ground controller, e.g. to change the flight mode.

In the forum I could find some references that there is a principle possibility to use the FC or ground controller with the I2C protocol at the Flex Port but nothing concrete.

e.g.:
https://github.com/cdaller/Arduino-Openpilot-UAVTalk/issues/1
https://forum.librepilot.org/index.php?topic=833.0

To find the  OpenLink ground controller (flex Port) with the Arduino I used a I2C scanner algorithm, but it could not find the Board.
http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/I2cScanner

Did anybody collect some experiences about connecting a Revolution Board with an Arduino Board  at the Flex Port? Did you write any algorithm for the Arduino to connect it to a Revolution Board / OpenLink ground controller? Or better experiences to manipulate the UAVobjects in the FC via I2C?

Greetings,
Vagaboul

hwh

Re: Couple Flight Controler with Arduino Board via I2C?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 12:45:03 am »
..OpenLink ground controller.... via I2C protocol.  ...
...In the forum I could find some references that there is a principle possibility to use the FC or ground controller with the I2C protocol at the Flex Port but nothing concrete.
...To find the  OpenLink ground controller (flex Port) with the Arduino I used a I2C scanner algorithm, but it could not find the Board...
I've never heard of an OpenLink but if you're talking about an OPLink the hardware could talk i2c but you'd have to write your own custom firmware for it.