Help getting rid of oscillation
« on: June 11, 2016, 10:22:32 pm »
Hi,

I'm a happy flyer, but there's one thing bothering me. My quad oscillates when I apply throttle at certain forward angle when recovering from a drop. It flies really well apart from that.

Problem visible here:

It's much worse when I fly without a camera (i.e. quad is lighter)

PIDs attached in uav.

And here:
Code: [Select]
            <field name="RollRatePID" values="0.00267000007,0.0101399999,3.60000013e-05,0.300000012"/>
            <field name="PitchRatePID" values="0.00350999995,0.0133300005,4.70000014e-05,0.300000012"/>
            <field name="YawRatePID" values="0.00710000005,0.0134899998,5.99999985e-05,0.300000012"/>
« Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 10:25:51 pm by muchzill4 »

Re: Help getting rid of oscillation
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2016, 06:25:39 am »
Looks like prop wash. Applying throttle to "catch" the quad and finish the split S

*disclaimer* I am new to tuning. I like to "think" I know what I'm talking about.

I think the D term is supposed to help tame prop wash oscillation.
If not using TPA. Maybe use it to increase D at the low throttle to mid range. If you are already using it maybe just play with the percentages.

I do believe it is the hardest "behavior" to tune out. For all flight controllers across all tuning software. Cleanflight/beta flight, race flight ect.

I have a similar issue with my quick 180 turns. I do the mini,quick split s turn to change direction more often than not. And I get it sometimes and sometimes i don't.

I'm only now diving into tuning my own copters. If you don't mind I have a question for you, your quad seems to fly smoothly. So I'm flying a 220 H quad on 4s. And my I gains are 4 times my P across all axis. Even more than 4x on yaw. Has that been your expirence? I'm looking for some general numbers people are ending up with. But I feel like I'm making solid progress tuning so far.