Parris

Ground loop on ESC's ?
« on: March 22, 2016, 02:36:29 am »

I understand ground loop problems with multiple AC earth grounded devices . Problems can occur . I'm an electrician .
    But , shouldn't all DC devices be grounded back to the battery ? No matter how many are in the circuit ?
Parris

jbarchuk

Re: Ground loop on ESC's ?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2016, 03:39:39 am »
My knowledge is only anecdotal. My job used to be to build test fixtures, engineering experiments, and prototypes with no instructions except anything from real schematics to chicken scratch bar napkins. Our department was expected to know how to build power distribution with zero instructions. Circuits could be anything from pure digital to pure analog or more often a mix.

Loopy grounds don't care if they're screwing up an AC or a DC voltage, or an analog or digital signal.

You mentioned ESC specifically. The black wire from the FC to the ESC is less of a 'ground' than it is a reference for the signal. It happens to be called ground but could just as easily be called reference to avoid confusion with other grounds. Since the signal originates from the FC that's where the reference should originate. That's most convenient and accurate because multiple similar design ESCs would prefer to use the same reference. If there's a problem it's be easier to scope and troubleshoot if all ESC grounds (references) are commoned at the same point on the FC rather than, for instance, the ESC grounds be commoned at the battery ground point, or different ESC 'grounds' being connected back to the FC ground through different paths. It probably -could- work that way but that'd be unnecessary weird wiring.